The unreliable first person narrator.

28 Dec

I consider myself an Author, but what does that mean?  Being an author requires a level of dedication that the writer does not endure, or if you wish suffer through.  Face it, all of us are writers.  We write daily in the form of E-mails, grocery lists, letters, requests and so on.  Now the Author, He or she are those unique people who wish to write for the joy or as a career.  The Author must find the time to write vast quantities of data daily.  They inform, and entertain, they report and they are something akin to the conscience of a culture, or society if you wish.

I am talking about a craft that can only get better through the diligent effort of practice.  Practice makes perfect, right?  Repetition brings refinement, yes?  It also should involve learning as much as you can about the craft from those who have come before you.  We read other writers works and we emulate and adapt our styles in accordance to what we learn as we read and study the work of other authors.  The work of an Author becomes as much a science as an art form.  An author, therefore, becomes a very complicated thing.  I count myself as one of these, but this really hasn’t a great deal with what I am after with this post.  With this post I have a question that I put forth to the other Authors, or rather I have a few questions revolving around a particular subject.  Your assistance is required.

The subject revolves around the concept of the unreliable first person narrator.  I have seen it in such novels as “Gone girl” and also in the book “We need to talk about Kevin.”  I have often been taught that that particular voice should reside mostly within the Gothic Short Story.  I have also come to the understanding that Poe was the master of this particular voice.  From what I gather, he had a very major impact on the art of this interesting form of voice

Hence, this specific post isn’t a bit of opinion or even a discussion of said concept, rather I posit it as a question to those authors who may traverse this blog.  If you have read this far I thank you for your time, but I ask you to please read on.  I would like some information if you could be so kind as to take a moment to comment.

  1.  Do you have an opinion on the matter of this unreliable narrator?  Please share if you do.
  2. Have you encountered any particular mechanical troubles when using this voice?
  3. Do you enjoy using this voice and are there any particular genre’s that you steadfastly apply said voice?
  4. If you have any other important information to share regarding this voice I would appreciate if you could impart here.

Thank you for your time.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

