Take the bull by the horn

31 Mar

How do you intend to get yourself published?  How do  you expect to gather a following?  We all know that we must write and that we must find the discipline to write each and every day.  Have you heard of Nanowrimo.  The idea behind this initiative is  to  have participants gather an understanding of the  writer’s life.  In this effort  you need to write  50,000 words in 30 days.  Hardly an easy task, but  there can be no doubt that it will show you what it means to immerse yourself in your writing.  How do you find the discipline?

As far as I am concerned, I have begun writing for online magazines on the internet.  My first gig lasted about 8-9 months and I wrote approximately 20-30 reviews of plays in my local area

I am a horror and dark fantasy  author.  Hence, writing reviews was definitely outside of my focus.  That being said, I leaned a great deal from the effort.  I did not get paid for this process, but I did get published and met some people that will help me  as I move down this road.  Having contacts in any field becomes invaluable.

This effort came to a close as all good things must come to an end.  However, not to be daunted I kept my ear to the ground and remained patient.  Now I have found a new magazine  on line that I will begin to write for in the upcoming month, and guess what this next effort comes with pay.  Hence, I am making progress.  Further, the work involved is not nearly as confining as the previous gig.  I will be writing articles and performing interviews, and editorials.

Every step I am taking me propels me forward.  In the meantime I am  continuing to write in my favorite genre and I have begun to submit work to publishers of short stories.  The beauty of it comes when they ask me if I am published and the answer is Yes!

The one question you might have of me is where do you  find  these jobs?  really simple.  Go to craigslist and click on gigs and go to writing gigs and check them out.  You may have to be patient as it takes time until you find a opportunity that piques your curiosity.  Anyway enjoy and good luck!

Leave a Reply

